Top-side cooling comes to 600 V super junction MOSFETs
Two new parts move an existing super junction die into a top-side-cooled package. In production now, with a 16-week lead time.
MOSFETs
Alpha and Omega Semiconductor announced two 600 V super junction MOSFETs:
The AOGT037V60DE2 at 37 mΩ and the AOGT060V60DE2 are two 600 V super junction MOSFETs in the company's top-side-cooled GTPAK package with gull-wing leads. Production quantities are available now, as off this writing on a 16-week lead time. Application areas are for example servers, workstations, telecom rectifiers, solar inverters, motor drives and industrial power systems. Alpha and Omega Semiconductor (AOS) lists boost PFC, totem-pole PFC on the slow leg, LLC resonant, phase-shifted full bridge and cyclo-converter topologies. It puts the platform's body-diode ruggedness at di/dt = 1300-1500 A/µs, alongside avalanche capability and short-circuit withstand time.[1]
Why does it matter
AOS has published a controlled comparison of the package: It launched the αMOS E2 platform on 27 January 2026 with the AOTL037V60DE2, in the bottom-cooled TOLL package. Set beside the GTPAK datasheet six figures differ, all of them set by the package: current ratings, power dissipation, thermal resistance and derating. Everything else is identical, from the 37 mΩ maximum on-resistance and 146 nC gate charge to the 1.2 µC reverse-recovery charge and 750 mJ avalanche rating.[2][3][4]
Junction-to-case thermal resistance drops from 0.29 to 0.2 °C/W, continuous drain current at a 25 °C case rises from 70 to 82 A, and power dissipation goes from 431 to 625 W.[3][4] That means nearly a third less thermal resistance and 45% more dissipation. Top-side cooling at 600 V is not new ground, though: Infineon put 600 V CoolMOS into a top-side-cooled QDPAK in 2021.[7]
The two parts are not close substitutes. The 60 mΩ grade takes 50 A rather than 82, dissipates 378 W rather than 625, and absorbs 270 mJ of single-pulse avalanche energy against 750.[4][5] Both are qualified to industrial grade. And the slow-leg qualifier in the topology list is important, because super junction body-diode reverse recovery keeps silicon out of the high-frequency leg of a continuous-conduction totem-pole PFC, where SiC or GaN goes.[6]
Technical specifications AOGT037V60DE2 and AOGT060V60DE2, both in GTPAK:
| Spec | AOGT037V60DE2 | AOGT060V60DE2 |
|---|---|---|
| Drain-source voltage | 600 V, 700 V at Tj max | 600 V, 700 V at Tj max |
| RDS(on) at VGS = 10 V | 37 mΩ max, 33 mΩ typical | 60 mΩ max, 54 mΩ typical |
| Continuous drain current | 82 A at 25 °C case, 52 A at 100 °C | 50 A at 25 °C case, 32 A at 100 °C |
| Pulsed drain current | 328 A | 200 A |
| Power dissipation at 25 °C case | 625 W | 378 W |
| Junction-to-case thermal resistance | 0.2 °C/W max, 0.16 typical | 0.33 °C/W max, 0.26 typical |
| Total gate charge | 146 nC typical | 85 nC typical |
| Output capacitance | 135 pF | 92 pF |
| Eoss at 400 V | 14 µJ | 8.9 µJ |
| Body-diode Qrr and trr | 1.2 µC, 175 ns | 0.9 µC, 138 ns |
| Single-pulse avalanche energy | 750 mJ | 270 mJ |
| Body-diode di/dt | 1300 A/µs at IF up to 80 A, Tj 25 °C (datasheet; the press release says 1500 A/µs) | 1300 A/µs at IF up to 45 A, Tj 25 °C (datasheet; the press release says 1500 A/µs) |
| dv/dt ruggedness | 50 V/ns | 50 V/ns |
| Short-circuit withstand time | not stated | not stated |
| Package | GTPAK, 10.0 x 15.0 x 2.3 mm | GTPAK, 10.0 x 15.0 x 2.3 mm |
| Qualification | Industrial | Industrial |
| Unit price, 1,000 pieces | $6.00 | $3.00 |
| Availability | Production, 16-week lead time | Production, 16-week lead time |
Sources: [1][4][5]
The GTPAK datasheets, revisions 1.1 and 1.2 dated June 2026 and posted three weeks before the announcement, rate body-diode di/dt at 1300 A/µs, and they carry the conditions the press announcement leaves out: forward current up to 80 A on the 37 mΩ part, up to 45 A on the 60 mΩ part, both at a junction temperature of 25 °C.[4][5] The announcement says 1500 A/µs with no conditions attached, and short-circuit withstand time does not appears in the datasheets.[1][4][5]
The di/dt disagreement is important to clear; Body-diode ruggedness is what you size a totem-pole slow leg or a phase-shifted bridge against. The absent short-circuit withstand time is narrower in consequence, since it is offered as a platform characteristic rather than a rated parameter. Everything else a designer needs is specified, including safe operating area, thermal derating and transient thermal impedance curves in both datasheets.
Recommended Reading: SiC MOSFET: Wide-bandgap Power Devices for High-Efficiency Converters. Covers top-side heat extraction and which datasheet parameters to weigh before a design-in.
References
- Alpha and Omega Semiconductor's New αMOS E2 600V Super Junction MOSFETs Support Optimized Electrical/Thermal Paths, Boosted System Performance and Long-Term Reliability, Alpha and Omega Semiconductor via Business Wire, 8 September 2026.
- Alpha and Omega Semiconductor Unveils its Powerful αMOS E2 600V Super Junction MOSFET Platform, Alpha and Omega Semiconductor via Business Wire, 27 January 2026.
- AOTL037V60DE2 datasheet, Rev 2.1, Alpha and Omega Semiconductor, June 2026. The same die in the bottom-cooled TOLL package.
- AOGT037V60DE2 datasheet, Rev 1.1, Alpha and Omega Semiconductor, June 2026.
- AOGT060V60DE2 datasheet, Rev 1.1, Alpha and Omega Semiconductor, June 2026.
- Using SiC MOSFETs in Totem-pole PFC Circuits, David Meneses, EE Power, 27 May 2021.
- 600 V CoolMOS CFD7 comes in a new top-side cooling package, the QDPAK, Infineon Technologies application note. States the QDPAK top-side-cooled package was introduced in 2021.